Zechariah 12-14; Psalm 94; 2 John

And the clans of Judah will say to themselves, ‘The people of Jerusalem have found strength in the Lord of Heaven’s Armies, their God.” Zechariah 12:5 NLT

I will bring that group through the fire and make them pure. I will refine them like silver and purify them like gold. They will call on my name, and I will answer them. I will say, ‘These are my people,’ and they will say, ‘The Lord is our God.” Zechariah 13:9 NLT

Joyful are those you discipline, Lord, those you teach your instructions. You give them relief from troubled times until a pit is dug to capture the wicked. The Lord will not reject his people; he will not abandon his special possession.” Psalm 94:12-14 NLT

Unless the Lord had helped me, I would soon have settled in the silence of the grave. I cried out, “I am slipping!” but your unfailing love, O Lord, supported me. When doubts filled my mind, you comfort gave me renewed hope and cheer.” Psalm 94:17-19 NLT

He delivers me

He refines me

He disciplines me

He comforts me

He loves me and commands me to love others….

How happy I was to meet some of your children and find them living according to the truth, just as the Father commanded. I am writing to remind you, dear friends, that we should love one another. That is not a new commandment, but one we have had from the beginning. Love means doing what God has commanded us, and he has commanded us to love one another, just as you heard from the beginning. I say this because many deceivers have gone into the world. They deny that Jesus Christ came in a real body. Such a person is a deceiver and an Antichrist. Watch out that you do not lose what we have worked so hard to achieve. Be diligent so that you receive your full reward. Anyone who wanders away from this teaching has no relationship with God. But anyone who remains in the teaching of Christ has a relationship with both the Father and the Son.” 2 John 1:7-9 NLT

How do I stay discerning while loving others who are far from him?

Because, sometimes I worry that I will be deceived.

Jesus says to remain in Him. According to Websters, the word Remain means…

‘To stay in the same place or with the same person or group; to stay behind.’

When I am not doing this my heart gets restless. I start to doubt that God’s plans for me are good. I become ungrateful, unforgiving and discontent. I am critical, instead of loving. I miss out on his peace. But, if I am abiding, my eyes are open to how he is working around me. I get to be a part of seeing prayers answered and hearts changed. When I ask for wisdom, he gives it. I can love others out of faith and not fear.

But the Lord is my fortress; my God is the mighty rock where I hide.” Psalm 94:22 NLT

Father, I pray that I would wait on you and seek you first. I pray that you would show me how to love others with the love you have shown me. Amen.

Amy(amyctanner)

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 John, Psalms, Zechariah

Leave a Reply

