Daily Archives: March 12, 2017

Exodus 23, John 2, Job 41, 2 Corinthians 11

Other gods and false prophets.  Everywhere messages to follow something or someone other than Jesus.

I turn on the tv – other gods prevail.  I open my internet browser – other gods call me.  I step out of my house into the world – other gods everywhere.

My email bombards me with advertisements for religious material.  It is not always easy to tell which materials are true teachings and which are false.  Family and friends have been deceived and are living under the influence of false prophets.

God knows my weaknesses.  Jesus understands my heart.

“But Jesus would not entrust himself to them, because he knew all people.  He did not need anyone to testify about man, for he knew what was in a man.”  John 2:24-25 (NET)

When God gave instructions to the Israelites, He told them specifically how to deal with other gods.  He knew them well.

“You must not bow down to their gods; you must not serve them or do according to their practices.  Instead you must completely overthrow them and smash their standing stones to pieces.”  Exodus 23:24

The apostle Paul writes about the church being led astray by false prophets.

“But I am afraid that just as the serpent deceived Eve by his treachery, your minds may be led astray from a sincere and pure devotion to Christ.  For if someone comes and proclaims another Jesus different from the one we proclaimed, or if you receive a different spirit than the one you received, or a different gospel than the one you accepted, you put up with it well enough!” 2 Corinth 11:3-5 (NET)

God knows, yes, He knows.  I am weak and am bombarded by messages to follow something else, anything else.  Yet I know, yes, I know, how very much God loves me.

Dear Lord, Reveal to me any place where I am serving something other than Jesus Christ, the Savior of the world.  Protect me from outside influences.  Show me how to live in the world, and not succumb to the gods of this world.  Show me how to be Your light in the darkness, without succumbing to the darkness.  May I serve You – Father, Son and Holy Spirit – to bring You glory.

Diona

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized