Leviticus 1; John 20; Proverbs 17; Philippians 4

End your quarrel.

Now I appeal to Euodia and Syntyche. Please, because you belong to the Lord, settle your disagreement. And I ask you, my true partner, to help these two women, for they worked hard with me in telling others the Good News. Philippians 4:2-3, NLT

Keep joy.

Always be full of joy in the Lord. I say it again—rejoice! Let everyone see that you are considerate in all you do. Remember, the Lord is coming soon. Philippians 4:4-5, NLT

Don’t worry.

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7, NLT

Think on good things.

And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. Philippians 4:8, NLT

Practice, practice, practice.

Keep putting into practice all you learned and received from me—everything you heard from me and saw me doing. Then the God of peace will be with you. Philippians 4:9, NLT

Hebrews 12:1-3 is an anchoring verse to me. Yet, I can’t tell you how often I find myself being tripped up by sin that entangles. Some wounds are slow to heal. Some thoughts hound and hammer. Worries are wrapped in what-ifs, instead of shattered by prayer and thanksgiving. I have never felt more defeated or downcast as when I loosed my grip on hope–the very circumstance in which I needed to cling to hope tighter. (Oh, like Thomas, show me the wounds; let me touch the scars of your hands.)

Fire tests the purity of silver and gold,
    but the Lord tests the heart. Proverbs 17:3, NLT

My heart and mind cannot afford to gaze at doubt. Some thoughts only lead to slowing me down and tripping me up. Lord, thank you for moving so powerfully in my life. Help me to keep these bullet points of truth top of mind.

Courtney (66books365)

 

2 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, M'Cheyne Bible reading plan, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Leviticus 1; John 20; Proverbs 17; Philippians 4

  1. I’m trying to help a relative to turn her eyes upon Jesus. You say this so perfectly, and I hope you don’t mind if I share your words with her. Blessings and joy to you, too!

  2. Of course!

    On Sun, Apr 2, 2017 at 10:15 AM, Sixty-six books in a year wrote:

    >

Leave a Reply

