Daily Archives: June 4, 2017

Deuteronomy 8; Psalm 91; Isaiah 36; Revelation 6

Palm 91 is a balm to my soul. It offers comfort, reassurance and hope. I meditate on each line, soaking in the imagery, contemplating the meaning.

Yet I am careful not to read too literally. This is poetry. In this sinful world, followers of Jesus do become sick or are harmed. Revelation 6 references the martyrs in heaven. Even Jesus, Son of God, was subjected to violence.

Still the psalm fills my soul with peace.

He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High

will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.

I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.” Psalm 91:1-2

This is the place I most want to be – in the shelter of the Lord, resting in his shadow. A place in which I fully trust Him. I am cared for and loved.

He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge;

His faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.  Psalm 91:4

His protection is both soft and powerful. His promises surround me.

For he will command his angels concerning you

To guard you in all your ways;

They will lift you up in their hands,

So that you will not strike your foot against a stone. Psalm 91:11-12

Angels! I am not alone in this world.

“Because he loves me,” says the Lord, “I will rescue him;

I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.

He will call upon me, and I will answer him;

I will be with him in trouble,

I will deliver him and honor him.

With long life will I satisfy him and show him my salvation.” Psalm 91:14-16

I do love him and He loves me. He answers me. He is with me. He is my salvation.

Dear Lord, I want to live in You, so that you are surrounding me and covering me.  Help me stay in that place with you always.  I will step out and I know you will draw me back.  Thank you for always drawing me back to the shelter of your arms.  Only in the shelter of your arms am I completely comforted and at peace in my soul.  Amen

Diona

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized