Deuteronomy 9, Psalms 92 & 93, Isaiah 37, Revelation 7

14 Hezekiah received the letter from the hand of the messengers, and read it; and Hezekiah went up to the house of the Lord, and spread it before the Lord. 15 And Hezekiah prayed to the Lord: 16 “O Lord of hosts, God of Israel, enthroned above the cherubim, you are the God, you alone, of all the kingdoms of the earth; you have made heaven and earth. 17 Incline your ear, O Lord, and hear; open your eyes, O Lord, and see; and hear all the words of Sennacherib, which he has sent to mock the living God. 18 Truly, O Lord, the kings of Assyria have laid waste all the nations and their lands, 19 and have cast their gods into the fire. For they were no gods, but the work of men’s hands, wood and stone. Therefore they were destroyed. 20 So now, O Lord our God, save us from his hand, that all the kingdoms of the earth may know that you alone are the Lord.” Isaiah 37: 14-20

 

Have you ever received bad news and wondered what would happen next? Or maybe just news that was completely unexpected, something that catches you off guard? The way that we respond to such unexpected things can be a testament of our faith. I am a person who enjoys being in control of all circumstances. I like structure and routine. I like to know what to expect in every situation that lies ahead and for me, there’s nothing worse than the unexpected.

I find recently that the Holy Spirit has been whispering reminders to me of his greatness, his power and sovereignty. Though independence can be a good characteristic it also can lead to pride and mistrust. Despite my knowledge of the Word, I often forget that the Lord knows the steps ahead of me long before I take eve one. It is quite humbling to read this passage where King Hezekiah gets on his knees and not only acknowledges God’s sovereignty but boldly asks for God to handle this situation in front of him. He remembers the power of the Lord and Hezekiah’s desire is not simply for the rescue of his people but that the people in all the earth would know that there is only one true God.

I am trying to imagine Hezekiah going into a quiet place, getting down on his knees and literally laying out before the Lord the letter he had received from his enemies. How often do I take my problems to the Lord instead of looking to my own power? How often do I trust that He is in control and has planned my steps before time began? How often do I rest in the Sovereignty of his plan knowing that he will be with me in the future just like he was with me in the past?

I am so thankful for God’s true and holy Word. For reminders of His Sovereignty and the whispers of the Holy Spirit.

Thank you, Lord for being all power, all knowing and all present. Father, help me to trust in you with my next steps no matter what the circumstance that lies ahead. Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Isaiah, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

