Judges 6; Acts 10; Jeremiah 19; Mark 5

Sometimes I forget. Like Gideon, I keep my faith hidden and thresh my wheat in the wine press. Like Gideon, I tend to keep expectations low,  dreams limited and focus on getting by. Immediate disappointment is deferred that way, but in His Grace, God’s vision for life is higher than mine. My stale faith and prayers do not limit what God can do. To the contrary, time and time again, He delights in interrupting the normal.

Those interruptions are a gift to the person with the smallest of hopes. Consider the synagogue leader whose daughter is healed, the woman who dares to reach out in the crowd to discretely touch Jesus’s clothing, and the demoniac delivered from the Legion. But for those unable to cope with the fact that they are not in control and life as they know it has been irrevocably altered, the interruptions of God are unwelcome, if not terrifying. I am thinking of the  Gideon’s Midianite and Amalekite neighbors and later the  Gerasene swineherds.

God doesn’t allow me to stay stuck in the past. His ways break through conventions and rules to call me to the unexpected. I prayer that when He calls me to take the next risk, I will be quick to listen and obey as in the case of Cornelius and Peter. His grace enables me to let go of prejudices and old habits that may have served in the past, but will not work today.

Lord, do not allow me to cling to my ability to get it right. Let me hold tightly to the grace to which you have called me by name. Thank you for being my anchor and my hope. Your relentless pursuit of my soul never fails. It’s by the glorious, beautiful name of Jesus that I offer this prayer. Your sufficiency continues to amaze in ways never expected. Amen.

“We have this hope, a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul, a hope that enters the inner shrine behind the curtain, where Jesus, a forerunner on our behalf has entered…” Hebrews 6:19-20.

Kathy

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Acts, Hebrews, Judges, M'Cheyne Bible reading plan, Mark

2 responses to “Judges 6; Acts 10; Jeremiah 19; Mark 5

  1. kateredding

    “Those interruptions are a gift to the person with the smallest of hopes. But for those unable to cope with the fact that they are not in control and life as they know it has been irrevocably altered, the interruptions of God are unwelcome, if not terrifying.”

    I go back and forth between high and low expectations. When I am walking closely with the Lord, my expectations are lower and my joy is greater because he exceeds my hopes. When I am further away, I depend on myself and like to be in control and can lead to me pushing back when he works. The key for me is to recognize everyday that he is in control every day! He can make beauty from ashes and he often surprises me:)

  2. So encouraging today. Life as I knew it was tossed upside down this year, and I straddle a line–and picking a side becomes harder than I imagined. Oh, that I would grasp the risk and turn from the past. xoxo

Leave a Reply

