Daily Archives: August 13, 2017

1 Samuel 3, Psalm 17, Jeremiah 41, Romans 3

Thankfulness. Gratitude. Awe.

These are my feelings toward God today. Thank you …

To the God who answered a prayer today that I had not yet even voiced, not yet even coherently thought. But I knew it was an answer the moment it entered my head. I was in the middle of a conversation with my boys and God gave me words for them. Words that I had read earlier as I was flipping through Romans to find today’s reading. I knew it was a message that God wanted my fifteen-year old sons to hear right at that time.

To the God who loves my children. He loves them so much that he works through me, a broken sinful mother, to guide them. He gives them situations to grow their character.

To the God who created me to create. I am spending a few days restoring my soul through my craft. I make quilts and the process brings peace and joy to my heart. I tell myself that it is selfish to take time away from my “responsibilities” to do something I enjoy. But I think God may be telling me otherwise. It seems as if God is whispering deep inside me that he wants me to be creative in this way.

To the God of grace, who saved me.

“But now a righteousness from God, apart from the law, has been made known, to which the Law and the Prophets testify. This righteousness from God comes through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe. There is no difference, for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.” Romans 3:21-25

Dear Heavenly Father, Thank you for sending Jesus to take the punishment for my sins. I will never comprehend the love that you have for me. I want to be willing to always listen to you. I confess that some days I am more willing than others. Help me to answer your call as Samuel did in today’s reading:

“Then Samuel said, ‘Speak, for your servant is listening.’” 1 Samuel 3:10b

Amen

Diona

2 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Uncategorized