1 Samuel 9-10; Acts 8

The beautiful symphony of God at work. The high notes, the low notes, the crashing cymbals, the trilling piccolos, the subtle bass backdrop, the victorious melody of the french horn. Every instrument chimes in, together creating the masterpiece of God’s work in this world.

Then the Spirit of the Lord will rush upon you, and you will prophesy with them and be turned into another man. . . God gave him another heart.

I Samuel 10:6, 9 ESV

17 Then they laid their hands on them and they received the Holy Spirit.

Acts 8:17 ESV

39 And when they came up out of the water, the Spirit of the Lord carried Philip away, and the eunuch saw him no more, and went on his way rejoicing.

Acts 8:39 ESV

The transforming power of the Holy Spirit is a breathtaking miracle. Saul was worried about donkeys, and worrying about family members worrying about him. With his eyes on the physical, he might have missed the work of the Spirit if it had been left up to his own line of sight. God had other plans.

But he said to him, “Behold, there is a man of God in this city, and he is a man who is held in honor; all that he says comes true. So now let us go there. Perhaps he can tell us the way we should go.” Then Saul said to his servant, “But if we go, what can we bring the man? For the bread in our sacks is gone, and there is no present to bring to the man of God. What do we have?” The servant answered Saul again, “Here, I have with me a quarter of a shekel[b] of silver, and I will give it to the man of God to tell us our way.” (Formerly in Israel, when a man went to inquire of God, he said, “Come, let us go to the seer,” for today’s “prophet” was formerly called a seer.) 10 And Saul said to his servant, “Well said; come, let us go.” So they went to the city where the man of God was.

I Samuel 9:6-10 ESV

Despite Saul’s thoughts not traveling past his grumbling stomach, lack of resources, and missing donkeys, God directs his steps exactly where they need to take him. As Saul and his servant wandered “aimlessly” around from town to town, God was bringing him closer to Samuel’s path.

14 So they went up to the city. As they were entering the city, they saw Samuel coming out toward them on his way up to the high place.

I Samuel 9:14 ESV

What a “coincidence”! (Obviously not just a chance encounter). God had them both in the same place at the same time to make this happen. Sometimes he uses physical circumstances (like lost donkeys) to move us where he needs us, or he speaks directly as to Samuel so he would expect this encounter, while in Acts the Spirit whisked Philip away when he was done baptizing the eunuch. Comforting to know that God can and will use me regardless of how well I keep track of my car keys, the quality of my hearing, or even my current location. He will have me where he wants to use me if I have that willing heart, and sometimes even when I don’t. Even if I hide in the coat closet, he will pull me out to use me as he conducts his orchestra.

Thank you, Lord. For using me. For intervening in my life and those around me to craft these supernatural encounters that I did not even know to be looking for. You reshape my misgivings for your glory. You plot my steps for greatest impact. You open my eyes to the invisible truth of your work in this world. Thank you for even the smallest glimpse and part in all of it. In Jesus name, amen.

Erin (6intow)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment