1 Samuel 14; Psalm 124; Acts 10

It was one of those days again, it happened this past weekend –
hearing someone verbally abusing just so they could hurt our family –
all because we are different – all because we are the only followers of
Christ in our family.

The Philistines said, “Look! Those worthless Israelites have crawled out of the holes where they’ve been hiding.”– I Samuel 14:11  CEV

I have been verbally abused for my faith by co-workers, by
neighbours, by friends – but when it is family, it hurts most.  Somehow I
know the promises of God when it happens with the others, but with my
family I forget that God is there to protect me too.

Let’s praise the Lord!
He protected us from enemies
    who were like wild animals – Psalm 124:6  CEV

So as our family regroups and begins to pray for when our next family
visit will take place, one of the most encouraging thoughts is that
grace abounds where nothing else will do.  God wants our family to know
Him – everyone is accepted.  As I lead my family through grace and as we
heal, this one fact remains.

Peter
said to them, “You know that we Jews are not allowed to have anything
to do with other people. But God has shown me that he doesn’t think
anyone is unclean or unfit.
– Acts 10:28  CEV

It is a whole lot easier just to invite them to a church service and
have them decline.  No, God has called them to Himself and as family, we
are called to share Him with them.  I am reminded of what Jesus went
through when He entered the very world He created.

I loved Courtney’s post
where she wrote the entire Psalm 23.  That is how powerful that Psalm
is – and it helped me this past weekend to know that I do not walk
alone.

Lord,
thank you for Your Word.  Thank you for Psalm 23. Thank you for
speaking encouragement and allowing us to see others as You see them.
Thank you for showing us how to take verbal abuse for our walk with You
and how not to take it personally.  Give us the strength, give us Your
Holy Spirit, and allow us to continue to serve You, speak about You and
most of all, follow You even in the face of difficulties. Amen.

Erwin (evanlaar1922)

From the archives. Originally published April 25, 2018.








Leave a comment

Filed under 5 day reading plan, 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan

Leave a comment