I Samuel 20; I Chronicles 4; Psalm 56,57, 142; Acts 14

I Samuel 20:41, 42 Jonathan and David: The story of these two men is a binding loyal love between friends. Even family loyalty could not separate Jonathan from David for amid their friendship was God. Jonathan and David knew God’s plan was to make David king of all Israel someday. David did not gloat and Jonathan was not jealous even knowing that David was God’s man to replace Jonathan’s father, Saul, as king. That is true friendship.

Another example of turning from family toward God was the story of Jabez, one of a whole list of sons and fathers in the house of Judah. “Jabez was more honorable than his brothers… And Jabez called on the God of Israel saying, ‘Oh that You would bless me indeed, and enlarge my territory, that Your hand would be with me, and that You would keep me from evil, that I may not cause pain!’ So God granted him what he requested.” I Chronicles 4:9, 10. Such a humble ending to a prayer for God’s blessing. Jabez intended to protect his love for others by asking God to guard his heart against evil and from harming others. I do not wonder that Jabez had several friends in mind when he lifted up this prayer.

Acts 14:2, 3 demonstrates the love that Paul and Barnabas had for the Iconiums. “But the unbelieving Jews stirred up the Gentiles and poisoned their minds against the brethren. Therefore they [Barnabas and Paul] stayed there a long time, speaking boldly in the Lord, who was bearing witness to the word of His grace, granting signs and wonders to be done by their hands.” Instead of using the contention and danger brought on by unbelievers as an excuse to immediately leave the Iconiums, Paul and Barnabas dug in their heels and stayed even longer with these brethren. I have had ‘fair weather friends’ before, and know the disappointment and loneliness that these relationship types wrought on my heart. The Iconiums

Yet, I have friends who are golden. I mean that. I’ve known a few of them for over 30 years and a few for just about five years. What I love about them all is how they love me. They are much better than I at showing their friendship. Calls and texts when we have not communicated for a lengthy time. Cards and kind words on holidays or just because they were thinking about me. And of course, they know me. My pain has been their pain. My silence to them a matter of prayer for my wellbeing. And my joys a cause of celebration.

As I said, they are much better at being a friend than I can ever match. I try to give support when needed, and I hope not to forget important dates in their lives. I especially love to catch up on their family ties and expansion. But I never feel I can give back all I have received in these beautiful relationships.

This is also how I feel about the overwhelming love of God for me. Christ has given His life that I can stand today in His grace. He warms my soul with His Holy Spirit, speaking truth, encouragement, and mercy to me every morning. I am honored by His love that I have not earned and sometimes even take for granted. Yet connecting with God is like when my phone rings and that lovely, familiar voice says, “Well, hello there!” I am immediately all smiles and laughter. How delightful to have a good friend. How marvelous to have Christ as my friend who sticks closer than a brother. How blessed I truly am!

Psalm 57:9-11 “I will praise You, O Lord, among the peoples; I will sing to You among the nations. For Your mercy reaches unto the heavens, and Your truth unto the clouds. Be exalted, O God, above the heavens; let Your glory be above all the earth.”

jansuwkilkinson

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Chronicles, 1 Samuel, 66 Books, Acts, Bible in a year reading plan, New Testament, Old Testament, Psalms, Uncategorized

Leave a comment