1 Samuel 28-29; 1 Chr 9; Acts 19

When Saul saw the vast Philistine army, he became frantic with fear. He asked the Lord what he should do, but the Lord refused to answer him, either by dreams or by sacred lots or by the prophets. Saul then said to his advisers, “Find a woman who is a medium, so I can go and ask her what to do.” His advisers replied, “There is a medium at Endor.” So Saul disguised himself by wearing ordinary clothing instead of his royal robes. Then he went to the woman’s home at night, accompanied by two of his men. “I have to talk to a man who has died,” he said. “Will you call up his spirit for me?” 1 Samuel‬ ‭28‬:‭5‬-‭8‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Saul had banned all mediums and spirits from Israel. But, when he was overwhelmed at the sight of the Philistine army, he turned to one for counsel. I can see how Saul could have been lead astray. He acted out of fear and desperation. I have to be on guard, because my eyes were recently open to how these practices are still happening today. It can sound intriguing to someone who doesn’t know the truth. And it is a tool of the enemy to lead people astray. I have to be discerning and grounded in God’s word.

God gave Paul the power to perform unusual miracles. When handkerchiefs or aprons that had merely touched his skin were placed on sick people, they were healed of their diseases, and evil spirits were expelled…But one time when they tried it, the evil spirit replied, “I know Jesus, and I know Paul, but who are you?” Then the man with the evil spirit leaped on them, overpowered them, and attacked them with such violence that they fled from the house, naked and battered. The story of what happened spread quickly all through Ephesus, to Jews and Greeks alike. A solemn fear descended on the city, and the name of the Lord Jesus was greatly honored. Many who became believers confessed their sinful practices. A number of them who had been practicing sorcery brought their incantation books and burned them at a public bonfire. The value of the books was several million dollars. So the message about the Lord spread widely and had a powerful effect.“ Acts 19‬:‭11-12; 15‬-‭20‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Many Ephesians took part in occult practices. They were impressed that Paul could drive out demons through the Holy Spirit. And that it was more powerful than their witchcraft. They were calling on the name of Jesus like he was a magic charm. They were using Jesus’s name, because they thought he had power. But, they were doing it for the wrong reasons. My pastor said that “When we’re talking about the Holy Spirit, we’re talking about a person, not an energy. And He glorifies Jesus.” Do I know him? Is my life marked by him?


”Some of the gatekeepers were assigned to care for the various articles used in worship. They checked them in and out to avoid any loss. Others were responsible for the furnishings, the items in the sanctuary, and the supplies, such as choice flour, wine, olive oil, frankincense, and spices.“ 1 Chronicles‬ ‭9‬:‭28‬-‭29‬ ‭NLT‬‬

The gatekeepers guarded the temple and opened the gates each for those wanted to worship. It was an important task. They took worshipping in the temple seriously. I should too. Worship keeps my focus on God. Combatting the darkness of this world and in my mind.

Dear Father, Help me to stay rooted in your truth so that I am not lead astray. Help me to remember that there’s a spiritual battle that I can’t see, but can sometimes feel. I want more of your presence. Your name is the only one that has the power to heal, break chains and strongholds. Holy is Your Name. Amen.

Amy(amyctanner)

1 Comment

Filed under 1 Chronicles, 1 Samuel, Acts, Bible in a year reading plan, New Testament, Old Testament

One response to “1 Samuel 28-29; 1 Chr 9; Acts 19

Leave a comment