2 Samuel 15-17; Psalm 3, 63; Romans 1

David walked up the road to the Mount of Olives, weeping as he went. His head was covered and his feet were bare as a sign of mourning. And the people who were with him covered their heads and wept as they climbed the hill. When someone told David that his adviser Ahithophel was now backing Absalom, David prayed, “O Lord, let Ahithophel give Absalom foolish advice!” When David reached the summit of the Mount of Olives where people worshiped God, Hushai the Arkite was waiting there for him. Hushai had torn his clothing and put dirt on his head as a sign of mourning.” 2 Samuel‬ ‭15‬:‭30‬-‭32‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Reading about David at the Mount of Olives, reminds me of Jesus going there as well. The Mount of Olives was a well- known place of worship for the people of God. It was David’s chosen path away from his son. Maybe so he could worship God as he left the safety of his palace into the wilderness? After celebrating the Passover and the Lord’s supper, Jesus and his disciples went to the Mount of Olives. Jesus surrendered to the Father’s will. What do I need to surrender to God today?

O Lord, I have so many enemies; so many are against me. So many are saying, “God will never rescue him!” Interlude But you, O Lord, are a shield around me; you are my glory, the one who holds my head high. I cried out to the Lord, and he answered me from his holy mountain. Interlude Victory comes from you, O Lord. May you bless your people. Interlude” Psalms‬ ‭3‬:‭1‬-‭4‬, ‭8‬ ‭NLT‬‬

David’s own son had stolen his kingdom and now sought to kill him. He was giving a desperate cry to God after feeling hurt and betrayed. Was he brokenhearted, disillusioned, feeling rejected and resentful? Where do I run when I’m feeling this way?

O God, you are my God; I earnestly search for you. My soul thirsts for you; my whole body longs for you in this parched and weary land where there is no water. I will praise you as long as I live, lifting up my hands to you in prayer. You satisfy me more than the richest feast. I will praise you with songs of joy. I lie awake thinking of you, meditating on you through the night. Because you are my helper, I sing for joy in the shadow of your wings. I cling to you; your strong right hand holds me securely.” Psalms‬ ‭63‬:‭1-‭8‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Will I turn my heartache into worship? Knowing that God is bigger than what I am running from and he can handle it? He is my helper, protector & provider.

“For I am not ashamed of this Good News about Christ. It is the power of God at work, saving everyone who believes—the Jew first and also the Gentile. This Good News tells us how God makes us right in his sight. This is accomplished from start to finish by faith. As the Scriptures say, “It is through faith that a righteous person has life.” Romans‬ ‭1‬:‭16‬-‭17‬ ‭NLT‬‬

In many ways Paul’s entire ministry can be summed up by these verses. Can the same be said of my life?

Dear Father, give me a boldness in my faith. Help me to stand firm against the enemies schemes. I worship You. Amen.

Amy(amyctanner)

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Samuel, Micah, Old Testament, Psalms, Romans, Uncategorized

Leave a comment