Proverbs 19-21; Psalm 40; Romans 16

Tucked between Paul’s lengthy list of greetings to his beloved brothers and sisters in Christ and the uplifting greetings of his fellow workers to those in Rome is Paul’s admonition to avoid divisive, contentious people.

“Now I urge you, brethren, note those who cause divisions and offenses, contrary to the doctrine which you learned, and avoid them. For your obedience has become known to all. Therefore I am glad on your behalf; but I want you to be wise in what is good, and simple concerning evil.” Romans 16:17, 19.

Proverbs 19 – 21 contain a fountain of that wisdom warning against discord and dissension such as in the following parallels: “What is desired in a man is kindness, and a poor man is better than a liar.” (19:22) “It is honorable for a man to stop striving, since any fool can start a quarrel.” (20:3) “Better to dwell in the wilderness, than with a contentious and angry woman.”(21:19)

Even though professing Christ as our Savior, I am human and therefore, prone to sink into the miry clay of dissension, arguments, and speaking half-truths. I have spread gossip without considering the consequences to others and to my own soul. Yet, when I repent God lifts me out of these traps. Psalm 40 describes lavish praise and delight when trusting God who will confound those who wish evil and spread lies. “Blessed is that man who makes the Lord his trust, and does not respect the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies.” The Psalmist declares that God hears our cries, lifts us out of the miry clay, keeps us in His thoughts, and shows us mercy and lovingkindness. I know, too, that God’s Holy Spirit renews my mind and creates in me a clean heart. As I continually work out my salvation on this earth, He reminds me that I ought to read and meditate on God’s word, pray in the Spirit, and avoid divisive, contentious people. By submitting to Christ, I guard against becoming a stumbling block to others seeking the love of God.

One of my favorite passages in Scripture that refocuses my thoughts and purposes my emotions is Philippians 4:8. “Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy – meditate on these things.”

This is my daily prayer, dear Lord Jesus Christ! Amen.

jansuwilkinson

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment