Proverbs 24-25, Psalm 41, and 1 Thessalonians 2

There are three threads running through today’s reading: wisdom, kindness and sharing your faith with others.  Sound familiar? God repeats the same messages in different formats hoping that one of them will resonate with me and change my life.  That is His desire, to open my eyes to see the benefits of His way of doing things, for me to reach out to those in need, and for me to tell others of the good things God has done for me.

Through wisdom a house is built, And by understanding it is established; By knowledge the rooms are filled with all precious and pleasant riches.

A wise man is strong, Yes, a man of knowledge increases strength; For by wise counsel you will wage your own war, and in a multitude of counselors there is safety.

Wisdom is too lofty for a fool; He does not open his mouth in the gate.

If you faint in the day of adversity, Your strength is small.

So shall the knowledge of wisdom be to your soul; if you have found it, there is a prospect, and your hope will not be cut off. (Proverbs 24: 3-6, 10,and 14 NKJV)

Wisdom is not just book smart, though understanding the scriptures is a good starting point. But wisdom is also knowing when to act and knowing when to exercise self-control. Sometimes wisdom is found using trial and error, sometimes it is gained by watching others succeed or fail. It may be found in a proverb, or in a song, or through a prayer. One must practice using it again and again; it is the same as when you exercise your body.  Once and done, does not work. You must repeat it over and over before it makes you strong. If you continually do what you know is wise, your “wise” muscle will become stronger and stronger. 

Wisdom is knowing when to keep your mouth shut.

Wisdom is asking others for help when you need it.

Wisdom builds a strong foundation and gives you hope, if it is aligned with God’s purposes.

Blessed is he who considers the poor; the Lord will deliver him in time of trouble. The Lord will preserve him and keep him alive, and he will be blessed on the earth; You will not deliver him to the will of his enemies.  The Lord will strengthen him on his bed of illness; You will sustain him on his sickbed. (Psalms 41: 1-3 NKJV)

If your enemy is hungry, give him bread to eat; and if he is thirsty, give him water to drink; for so you will heap coals of fire on his head. And the Lord will reward you. (Proverbs 25: 21-22 NKJV)

God is not just with me on Sunday morning. He is with me throughout everything I do during the week. He puts His desires in my heart to reach out to those around me. Not just the people I know and like, but the one who told my secret to the whole world, and maybe even a complete stranger.

The Lord is not only planting His seeds in their hearts, when I show them God’s kindness, He is also doing a work in my heart. He is showing me the power of God’s word as I see Him work through my hands to touch someone’s heart and life, as I meet their need.

But in doing so, God also promises to see that I get help in my time of need.  He will make me well when I am sick, and in Proverbs it says I will be rewarded for taking care of my enemies. These blessings may not look like I imagine, or come when I expect them to come, but God will honor His word, in His way, and in His timing.

If you say, “Surely we did not know this,” does not He who weighs the hearts consider it? He who keeps your soul, does He not know it? And will He not render to each man according to his deeds? (Proverbs 24:12 NKJV)

God sees every move I make, and He knows my motives. He is interested in the “why” I do, what I do. Am I trying to please Him, or am I trying to please myself? I should be motivated to help others because I want to shine God’s love into their life, not for what I will get out of it.  God will see that I am blessed, that should be enough motive for me, not what man can do for me.

For this reason we also thank God without ceasing, because when you received the word of God which you heard from us, you welcomed it not as the word of me, but as it is in truth, the word of God, which also effectively works in you who believe.  For you brethren became imitators of the churches of God which are in Judea in Christ Jesus.  For you also suffered the same things from your own countrymen, just as they did from the Judeans, who killed both the Lord Jesus and their own prophets, and have persecuted us; and they do not please God and are contrary to all men, forbidding us to speak to the Gentiles that they may be saved, so as always to fill up the measure of their sins, but wrath has come upon them to the uttermost.

For what is our hope, or joy, or crown of rejoicing: Is it not even you in the presence of our Lord Jesus Christ at His coming: For you are our glory and joy.  (1 Thess. 2: 13-16, 19-20 NKJV)

As I try to help others, or share my faith, I may not get the reaction I wanted, or expected.  This Christian journey is filled with joy, as well as with difficulties. Paul was persecuted more than I ever expect to be, but when he found out the church of the Thessalonians was standing with God, it made his trials worth the joy of knowing his fruit, had taken hold of his teachings.

I am a spiritual leader, and so are you, if you believe. Knowing God’s word is an integral part of that journey, otherwise, we may unintentionally lead someone astray.  But if God’s word is integral, and I believe it with all my heart, soul, and mind, I can rest in times of peace as well as in times of suffering, because I know that God is with me.

But as we have been approved by God to be entrusted with the gospel, even so we speak, not as pleasing men, but God who tests our hearts.  (1 Thess. 2: 4 NKJV)

Father God, thank you for the wisdom found in your word. Help me to apply it to every area of my life. Help me to build a firm foundation. This world is hurting Lord, help me to have compassion and kindness towards those around me so that your light can be spread to those in need.  Holy Spirit, I need Holy boldness to tell others about Jesus.  Help me, I pray, to do what is right, in Jesus’ name.

Carol (carolvorwe)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment