2 Chronicles 5-7, Psalms 121, 1 Timothy 4

Indeed it came to pass, when the trumpeters and singers were as one, to make one sound to be heard in praising and thanking the Lord, and when they lifted up their voice with the trumpets and cymbals and instruments of music, and praised the Lord, saying:

                   “For He is good, For His mercy endures forever,”

That the house, the house of the Lord, was filled with a cloud, so that the priests could not continue ministering because of the cloud, for the glory of the Lord filled the house of God.     (2 Chronicles 5:13-14 NKJV)

I can only imagine, the tangible presence and power of God. The key here is that their hearts were unified. The people of Israel witnessed a miracle that was so great that their only response could be awe and worship.

Jesus prayed for us in the New Testament: “May they all be one , as you, Father, are in me and I am in You.”

Can you imagine what could be accomplished, if all those who have their hearts focused on God, worked together in unison?

I have the presence of God in my heart. I can experience His presence and power in my life. It is the posture of my heart that allows Him to show off. I need to be bowed down in worship and focused upwards instead of what is going on around me.

For bodily exercise profits a little, but godliness is profitable for all things, having promise of the life that now is and of that which is to come. This is a faithful saying and worthy of all acceptance. For to this end we both labor and suffer reproach, because we trust in the living God, who is the Savior of all men, especially those who believe. (1 Timothy 4: 8-10 NKJV)

God was pleased with David’s heart for wanting to build the temple, even though He did not allow David to build it. God is also pleased with my heart if my desire is to serve Him, even though it may not transpire.

Though God honors unfulfilled desires, that should not allow me to fail to take action to bring them to reality.

I should make it my aim to train in godliness. That will help me to walk in tune with God. It also helps to navigate issues as they arise. My heart is also prepared to look towards heaven.

Spiritual training does not happen naturally. I must have intentional self-discipline, such as I need when going to the gym. It is a practice done over and over. But the good thing is that God is right there, willing to help and encourage me to run focused on Him.

                                O God, I look to the mountains;

                                Where does my help come from?

                                My strength comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

                                He will not allow me to stumble.

                               My Guardian God will not slumber.

                                He is right at my side to protect me–

                                Shielding me from sunstroke, sheltering me from moonstroke.

                                The Lord protects me from all evil.

                                He guards my very life.

                                The Lord shall protect my going out and my coming in.

                                He guards me today, He guards me always.

(Adapted from Psalms 121)

With a God like that, who would not want Him walking with them and protecting them each and every day. He is faithful to those who are faithful to Him. It is a daily choice I must make!

Carol (carolvorwe)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment