2 Samuel 13-14; Acts 28

Deception and violence.

“Lie down on your bed and pretend to be ill. (2 Sam 13:5 ESV)

being stronger than she, he violated her and lay with her (2 Sam 13:14)

Put this woman out of my presence and bolt the door after her (2 Sam 13:17)

Absalom hated Amnon (2 Sam 13:22)

“Mark when Amnon’s heart is merry with wine, and when I say to you, ‘Strike Amnon,’ then kill him. . .” (2 Sam 13:28)

Pretend to be a mourner and put on mourning garments (2 Sam 14:2)

See, Joab’s field is next to mine, and he has barley there; go and set it on fire (2 Sam 14:30)

The sequence of events in these chapters reminds me of the days of the judges when everyone did was what right in their own eyes. Amnon, David, Absalom, Joab, and more. Each acted on impulse, many seeking attention or the fulfillment of selfish desires. Following the plot, it is easy to see that depravity that underscores this account.

What about in my own life? How often do I act impulsively instead of rationally? How often do I seek to satisfy the flesh rather than the spirit? I may not have committed such heinous crimes, but each day I am thankful for the grace of God that offers forgiveness and the love of God that compels me to follow. It is easy to see the blatant wickedness in these pages, but can I spot the less subtle remnants in my own choices and agendas?

David had been known as the man after God’s own heart, and yet as he lived out his later years he experienced the painful damage of living after his own desires instead of God’s. This heart-breaking account urges me to seek faithfulness. To live boldly for God’s truth.

Lord God, may truth mark my steps and not deception. Give me honest friends to spur me to godliness. May love and humility overflow and flush out the selfishness that threatens to influence my thoughts. Thank you for the boldness that you give to proclaim the kingdom of God rather than to live for selfish gain. Help me discern clearly between your path and my own in the big and little areas. In Jesus name, amen.

Erin (6intow)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment