Daily Archives: May 30, 2024

1 Kings 3, 2 Chronicles 1, Psalms 42, & Romans 8

There are three, no four things, that are needed for every Christ follower: Faith, Hope, Love and Wisdom. We need to have faith that Jesus is who He says He is. We need to have hope in eternal life and that the Holy Spirit lives within us helping daily. We must learn to love others unconditionally, without judgement or prejudice. And finally, we must use wisdom as we walk out the Christian life, to be able to determine what to do, and what is not beneficial for us.

It is easy for me to type the above words. It is easy for me to believe they are true. But it is not so easy to walk out each, and every day.

Can you imagine being Solomon? He said he was a little child, yet he was married. A lot of times we think we are all grown up if we are married. We can make our own decisions, come, and go as we please, etc. But Solomon had some wisdom already. He knew that being a king was a great task. He knew that a tremendous number of people depended upon him. He knew he did not have a clue how to run a country properly.

At Gibeon the Lord appeared to Solomon in a dream by night, and God said, “Ask! What shall I give you?” (1 Kings 3:5 NKJV)

How would I answer this question? I have no idea, but sometimes I think Solomon was just waiting for God to ask him, because his answer was well thought out.

“Therefore give to Your servant an understanding heart to judge Your people, that I may discern between good and evil. For who is able to judge this great people of Yours?”

The speech pleased the Lord, that Solomon had asked this thing. (1 Kings 3:9-10 NKJV)

It pleases the Lord when I ask (pray) with unselfish motives. It is okay to pray for myself, but it cannot be all that I care about. Like Solomon, I need understanding as well. I need to understand God’s word and God’s leading and will for my life. I also need to understand myself and others. It takes a lot of wisdom to make it through one day. I am just one person, Solomon needed wisdom for an amount of people too numerous to count. He chose wisely to ask for God’s help. I need God’s help as well.

Sometimes, as I travel this road, I call life, I may become discouraged about events that take place. Everyone does, at one point or another. Sometimes during these times, I can feel alone and abandoned by God. If I let it, it can even try to steal my hope. That is what the enemy wants—to discourage me and make me think that God does not care. But like the psalmist, I need to keep my thoughts grounded in the truth of God’s love for me.

Why are you cast down, O my soul? And why are you disquieted within me?

Hope in God;

For I shall yet praise Him,

The help of my countenance and my God. (Psalms 42:11 NKJV)

Praise God even when I do not feel like it. Praise God morning, noon, and night. Praise Him in the good times and praise Him in the bad. It may not change my circumstances, but it sure will change what I am thinking about.

Paul viewed his horrible experiences with eternal perspective. It was his reliance on the Holy Spirit that allowed him to take his eyes off his circumstances and keep them heavenly focused.

Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered. Now He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God.

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. (Romans 8:26-28 NKJV)

Satan will do whatever he can to discourage. I am going to fall continually. Satan will try to keep me down, to keep me discouraged about the mistakes I make. But God is my biggest cheerleader. He is right there encouraging me to get up and try again.

It is hard to believe that when I am going through a trial that it can work out for good. But later, I can see that it does. It might just be that it gives me compassion towards someone else going through the same situation. When God uses my sufferings to help someone else, it feels amazing. If I never fell, or never went through a trial, I could become haughty or proud and judge others who could not “overcome” their circumstances. I have the Trinity to call on for help, every day. Like Paul, I need to focus my thoughts on Them, and not on my present sufferings.

Also, like Paul, I must always remember:

Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our lord. (Romans 8:37-39 NKJV)

Do you believe it?

Thank you, God, for the help you provide to me and to others every day. It is so appreciated, because I know that it is only by grace that I am worthy to receive it. Please help me to remember to ask you for wisdom for each day, and to follow the Holy Spirit’s leading. Help me to have an eternal perspective in all my situations. In Jesus’s name I pray, Amen.

Carol (carolvorwe)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized