Daily Archives: June 4, 2024

Proverbs 6-7; Psalms 7; Romans 11

My son, obey your father’s commands, and don’t neglect your mother’s instruction. Keep their words always in your heart. Tie them around your neck. When you walk, their counsel will lead you. When you sleep, they will protect you. When you wake up, they will advise you. For their command is a lamp and their instruction a light; their corrective discipline is the way to life.” Proverbs‬ ‭6‬:‭20-‭23‬ ‭NLT‬‬


God’s word guides me and protects me, even when I sleep. Do I believe that God is a good Father? Am I hiding his word in my heart? I think of the times that I can’t sleep and let worry consume me. I toss and turn, but God is gently calling me to rest in Him.

“O Lord, don’t rebuke me in your anger or discipline me in your rage. Have compassion on me, Lord, for I am weak. Heal me, Lord, for my bones are in agony. I am sick at heart. I am worn out from sobbing. All night I flood my bed with weeping, drenching it with my tears. My vision is blurred by grief; my eyes are worn out because of all my enemies. Go away, all you who do evil, for the Lord has heard my weeping. The Lord has heard my plea; the Lord will answer my prayer. May all my enemies be disgraced and terrified. May they suddenly turn back in shame.” Psalms‬ ‭6‬:‭1‬-‭10‬ ‭NLT‬‬

David was still crying out to the Lord in his heartache. He trusted the Lord to deliver him from his enemies. Give me a heart like David.

I come to you for protection, O Lord my God. Save me from my persecutors—rescue me! God is my shield, saving those whose hearts are true and right. God is an honest judge. He is angry with the wicked every day. I will thank the Lord because he is just; I will sing praise to the name of the Lord Most High.” Psalms‬ ‭7‬:‭1‬-17‬ ‭NLT‬‬

David knew that the Lord would bring justice and rescue him.

“Oh, how great are God’s riches and wisdom and knowledge! How impossible it is for us to understand his decisions and his ways! For who can know the Lord’s thoughts? Who knows enough to give him advice? And who has given him so much that he needs to pay it back? For everything comes from him and exists by his power and is intended for his glory. All glory to him forever! Amen.”Romans‬ ‭11‬:‭33‬-‭36‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Paul acknowledges the mysteries and sovereignty of God and His plan. Do I believe that His plan is bigger than any trial I face?

Dear Father, I set my heart on you. You are a good Father. I praise you for who You are. Thank you for hearing and answering my prayers. Amen.

Amy(amyctanner)




Leave a comment

Filed under New Testament, Old Testament, Proverbs, Psalms, Romans, Uncategorized