Ruth 3-4; Psalm 37; Acts 4

Waiting and trusting God to come to my defense doesn’t always come easily. Waiting and trusting God to meet the needs of those I love seems even more difficult. I want to fix things with words; sometimes I think that if I keep talking…keep moving… keep doing, I can make things turn out the way when and how I want them to be. Ruth, Boaz, David and Peter learned a different way of living.

David instructs, “Trust in the Lord…

delight yourself in the Lord…

commit your way to the Lord,

and then be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him;

do not fret when men succeed in their ways,

when they carry out their wicked schemes. (Psalm 37:3-7).”

Peter and John lived these words when thrown in jail for healing the lame man in the name of Jesus. The courage, boldness and peace found in their refusal to deny the name of Jesus astonished the Sanhedrin so that they “took note that these men had been with Jesus.(Acts 4:13)”

Peace is not something that the world sees much of. When we face difficulty and opposition and then stand humbly by the name of Jesus, we are transformed by the peace he provides and the world takes notice. When I trust in myself, my words and my actions to deliver and save, I am left exhausted and frustrated. When I fall back on Jesus, the peace comes.

“The salvation of the righteous comes from the Lord:

he is their stronghold in time of trouble.

The Lord helps them and delivers them; 

he delivers them from the wicked and saves them, because they take refuge in him.”

Psalm 37:39-40.

This is the truth that we hold onto.

Lord, no matter what our situation is, may we rest in your truth and join the apostles in testifying “to the resurrection of the Lord Jesus” and so that “much grace” rests upon us. Show us what that means for our lives today. Amen

Klueh

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

