Genesis 1-2; Psalm 19; Mark 1

IMG_0858

Begin by the water.

“In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters.” Genesis 1:1,2

To this infinite expanse, the mind of God brings a physicality: light pierces the darkness and gives rise to order, rhythm and sequence. And God creates life upon life. Shimmering, dancing, unrestrained life. Combinations of colors of every hue, sounds, song and sensation arise from the very heart of God and take form: earth and sky, plant and animal, then man. Man created in God’s very image.

Return to the water. Once again, the Spirit hovers over the water and reaches down to Earth.

“As Jesus was coming out of the water, he saw heaven being torn open and the Spirit descending from heaven: ‘You are my Son, whom I love; with you I am well pleased.'” Mark 1:10-11

This is God’s public announcement: his Spirit has come down to earth to be with us. Through Jesus, God has humbled himself and taken the form of man. He has come to restore what has been broken. John the Baptist is brought to his knees by the new order:

“After me will come one more powerful than I, the throngs of whose sandals I am not worthy to stoop down and untie. I baptize you with water, but he will baptize you in the Holy Spirit.” Mark 1:7-8.

Jesus brings the Spirit of God to live within me. Eternal life is mine for the asking. Because of Christ’s death on the Cross and resurrection, I can know the renewing presence of the Holy Spirit every day.

“And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever—the Spirit of truth. The world can not accept him because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you.”  John 14:16-17

So this morning, the Holy Spirit waits for me to turn my heart to him and hear him speak words I long to hear. Words of life and renewal. He invites me to take part in what He is doing. How can it be that the very Spirit of God who shaped the Universe seeks to take residence in my heart?

O Lord,  thank you for humbling yourself so that I might know you. Keep me from foolishly taking your Presence for granted. Give me the wisdom to discern your voice and the obedience to follow your lead. Thank you for your loving kindness and favor.   Amen

Klueh

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible in a year reading plan, Genesis, Uncategorized

Leave a comment