2 Kings 4-6; Matthew 5

I want my eyes to be open.

The physical army was easy to see outside. It was the spiritual army that was not as apparent–at least not to Elisha’s servant.

15 When the servant of the man of God got up early the next morning and went outside, there were troops, horses, and chariots everywhere. “Oh, sir, what will we do now?” the young man cried to Elisha.

16 “Don’t be afraid!” Elisha told him. “For there are more on our side than on theirs!” 17 Then Elisha prayed, “O Lord, open his eyes and let him see!” The Lord opened the young man’s eyes, and when he looked up, he saw that the hillside around Elisha was filled with horses and chariots of fire. (2 Kings 6:15-17, NLT)

This story has been on my mind recently–and I’m thankful to encounter it again today.

***

The last words I read last night were the first ones to confront me this morning:

43 “You have heard the law that says, ‘Love your neighbor’ and hate your enemy. 44 But I say, love your enemies! Pray for those who persecute you! 45 In that way, you will be acting as true children of your Father in heaven. For he gives his sunlight to both the evil and the good, and he sends rain on the just and the unjust alike. 46 If you love only those who love you, what reward is there for that? Even corrupt tax collectors do that much. 47 If you are kind only to your friends, how are you different from anyone else? Even pagans do that. 48 But you are to be perfect, even as your Father in heaven is perfect. (Matthew 5:43-48, NLT)

Why was this gnawing at me? I thought of times when it was easier to show love to an enemy. Ah, but this one thing, still sore and nagging–to the point that I had to start my reading repeatedly and work through it in small bites.

I stopped and prayed, “Oh, God, you know. You know.” And I put my troubled thoughts into his hands.

That’s when I read Elisha’s story. The physical army that was easy to see, and the spiritual army that stood behind it. The Lord showed me, sometimes I can be focused too much on what I can see, and I forget there’s a bigger story accompanied by a big army, led by a big, sovereign, mighty God. And because of this, I can do hard things–through Christ’s strength–and have peace.

Oh Lord, I want my eyes to be open.

Courtney (66books365)

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Uncategorized

Leave a comment