Daily Archives: May 8, 2024

1 Samuel 30-31; 1 Chronicles 10; Acts 20

Sunday morning in church I was reminded again how important it was to acknowledge God, to walk with Him and to be sure that I am not so self-sufficient to realize that I do not need God every day, every hour of the day and with every breath I take.  He cares so much and protects me from falling away from my relationship with Him.

My friends, don’t be so greedy with what the Lord has given us! The Lord protected us and gave us victory over the people who attacked. – I Samuel 30:23   CEV

It was a vivid sermon for I was thinking of a friend of mine, a leader in our church community who left his wife for another woman.  No one can fathom how it happened.  What a legacy this 70-year-old man has left after years of following Jesus.

Saul died because he was unfaithful and disobeyed the Lord. He even asked advice from a woman who talked to spirits of the dead,  instead of asking the Lord. So the Lord had Saul killed and gave his kingdom to David, the son of Jesse. – 2 Chronicles 10:13-14   CEV

I was thinking of my own legacy and my own pride.  I was reminded that I too can fall away unless I put myself in God’s care.  I want to finish the work Christ gave me to do.  I want to tell people the good news of following Jesus.  I want to disciple those who are searching and those who have just began their journey.

But I don’t care what happens to me, as long as I finish the work that the Lord Jesus gave me to do. And that work is to tell the good news about God’s great kindness. Look after yourselves and everyone the Holy Spirit has placed in your care. Be like shepherds to God’s church. It is the flock that he bought with the blood of his own Son. I now place you in God’s care. Remember the message about his great kindness! This message can help you and give you what belongs to you as God’s people. – Acts 20: 24,28,32   CEV

Father, I want to be under Your care.  Your kindness is more than I can imagine.  Sometimes I wonder why I take advantage to sin thinking I can just ask for forgiveness later. These steps away from You do not keep me walking with You, they take me away from You. If I am going to be able to give to the Church Your message of kindness and the good news that comes from following Jesus, I must make that decision myself and I must walk with You, closely, and not from a distance.  Thank You for Your Word has challenged my heart once again and has kept me and changed me.  

Erwin (evanlaar1922)

From the archives. Originally published May 9, 2018.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 day reading plan, 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan