Jeremiah 38 & 39; Hebrews 1

So they took Jeremiah and threw him into the cistern of Malkijah the king’s son that was in the courtyard of the palace guard. They lowered him down with ropes…“He’s as good as dead. There isn’t a scrap of bread left in the city. They pulled Jeremiah up out of the cistern with ropes. But he was still confined in the courtyard of the palace guard. Jeremiah said, “If I told you the whole truth, you’d kill me. And no matter what I said, you wouldn’t pay any attention anyway.” Zedekiah swore to Jeremiah right there, but in secret, “As sure as God lives, who gives us life, I won’t kill you, nor will I turn you over to the men who are trying to kill you. Jeremiah assured him, “They won’t get a hold of you. Listen, please. Listen to God’s voice. I’m telling you this for your own good so that you’ll live.” Jeremiah 38:6-20 MSG

Growing up in Sunday school… when I think of bible stories and heroes, the first one that comes to mind is David and Goliath. As well as reading it to my six year old son every night who is fascinated by the slingshot and stone. This is one of the reasons I am thankful for 66 Books. It gives me the opportunity to dig into a scripture that I might have previously overlooked.

Jeremiah stands out to me as another biblical hero. He did not let fear hinder him. He knew who God was and that He would complete the work that He had for him. I think about how Jeremiah must have felt helpless in that cistern. And when he got out he was still showing boldness and courage. In the midst of being counted as “good as dead,” Jeremiah is still standing up for the God he believes in. He is telling the king to listen to God’s voice. He does not let fear stand in his way, though he does have “good reason to fear”(Jeremiah 39:16MSG) But, that God will deliver him out of their hands…“Yes, I will certainly save you. You won’t be killed. You’ll walk out of there safe and sound because you trusted me.” Jeremiah 39:15-18 MSG

How many times do I let fear stand in my way of fully trusting God?

Dear Father, help me to listen to Your voice above all others. I know that I am weak and need You and Your word. Thank you for loving me. Amen.

The Son perfectly mirrors God, and is stamped with God’s nature. He holds everything together by what he says-powerful words! But, you’ll stay the same, year after year; you’ll never fade, you’ll never wear out.” Hebrews 1:3,12 MSG

4 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Hebrews, Jeremiah, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Jeremiah 38 & 39; Hebrews 1

  1. having a hard time thinking that Jeremiah is one of your heroes – just never heard that from anyone before

  2. amyctanner

    It surprised me too 😉

  3. Have you ever had that sinking feeling when you are poised to do something you feel unprepared? Then you pray, step through the door, and finish the task without another doubting thought. It’s only a day or two later that you realize all is well and you are on to some other challenge. Wouldn’t it be great to have the boldness of Jeremiah the day of???

  4. amyctanner

    Yes😄 His faithfulness & courage

Leave a Reply

