Amos 1-3; Matthew 13

When I was younger we build forts and fought other kids in the neighbourhood for their treasure.  Buried treasure was a big thing for us as we checked out our local vacant fields for signs of what others had left behind.  I learned early that treasure was important and something to hang on to, maybe, if necessary to fight for.

So why was it in my adult life that I forget what treasure was?  Why did I forget that my relationship with God was my greatest treasure.  Why was it that I forget to seek first God’s kingdom and everything else would be taken care of?  Why did I stop panting like a deer pants for water to meet the Lord each morning?

And so the Lord God has sworn
    that they will be surrounded.
Enemies will break through
their defenses
    and steal their treasures. – Amos 3:11  CEV

God knew that I would have these desert moments in my life and He kept me safe and kept my treasure safe for me.  It did not take me long to realize that I had stepped away.  I become a follower of Christ who not only knew Him as Saviour but also as Lord.

The kingdom of heaven is like what happens when someone finds a treasure hidden in a field and buries it again. A person like that is happy and goes and sells everything in order to buy that field. – Matthew 13:44  CEV

So if Satan comes only to steal, kill and destroy and Jesus has come to give me life and to give me life abundantly, then it speaks well for me to embrace Him and allow Him into every arena of my heart and my life.  In welcoming Him into my space with His life-changing Word, I have the incredible opportunity to speak that Word into the lives of others.  Not only do I share the old treasures with new perspectives, but I also see new treasures that I and others have missed. I become a disciple of Jesus who has become a disciple-maker of others.

So he told them, “Every student of the Scriptures who becomes a disciple in the kingdom of heaven is like someone who brings out new and old treasures from the storeroom.” – Matthew 13:52

Lord, You are my only treasure. Every treasure You have given me I lay gladly back at Your feet and only wish to glorify You through them.  There is nothing like sharing Your Word with someone and see their eyes light up and the light bulb goes off as Your Holy Spirit illuminates who You are.  Thank you that I can be used to give Your treasure to others. Amen

Erwin (evanlaar1922)

 

1 Comment

Filed under 66 Books, Amos, Bible in a year reading plan, Matthew, New Testament, Old Testament, Uncategorized

One response to “Amos 1-3; Matthew 13

  1. Pingback: Treasure – Cherish

Leave a comment