1 Samuel 4-6; Luke 12:35-59

I had gotten a text and several calls from a neighbor very early the other morning. Someone had tried to break into her house before dawn. Her husband was awake and alerted of the trouble, called out for his son, and the intruders fled before entering. My cell phone wasn’t near me when she called, so I didn’t get the scoop until a little later. She was calling to warn me, because the men were making a run for my house.

The news troubled me all day and into that night and following day. My senses were on guard. What was familiar suddenly seemed different.

This morning’s scriptures seemed hand picked.

35 “Be dressed for service and keep your lamps burning, 36 as though you were waiting for your master to return from the wedding feast. Then you will be ready to open the door and let him in the moment he arrives and knocks. 37 The servants who are ready and waiting for his return will be rewarded. I tell you the truth, he himself will seat them, put on an apron, and serve them as they sit and eat! 38 He may come in the middle of the night or just before dawn. But whenever he comes, he will reward the servants who are ready.

39 Understand this: If a homeowner knew exactly when a burglar was coming, he would not permit his house to be broken into. 40 You also must be ready all the time, for the Son of Man will come when least expected.” Luke 12:35-40, NLT.

And Peter asked, “Lord, is that illustration just for us or for everyone?” (Luke 12:41, NLT).

I sit at the Lord’s feet and consider these words today.

Lord, help me to live with your kingdom in mind. Help me to be ready for you.

Courtney (66books365)

3 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, ESV Through the Bible in a Year

3 responses to “1 Samuel 4-6; Luke 12:35-59

  1. What timing for the Scripture reading!

  2. I know! Made a much stronger impression, that’s for sure!

    On Thursday, April 10, 2014, Sixty-six books in a year wrote: >

  3. Makes me want to think about what I might be doing or not doing when Christ arrives; then again, He is here. I must confess.

Leave a Reply

