2 Chronicles 10-12; John 13:18-38

There are times when I look at the day ahead of me like a huge mountain to climb. Like the pile of laundry on my bed or the calendar filling up with end of the school year activities. I tend to focus on the problems and busyness, waiting to get some rest and relief once it is all over. I would like to think that I always look at these times as an opportunity for God to work in my weakness. Like this excerpt says, I find myself trying to push through… “When we come into contact with stress, our natural response is to push through. We don’t want to be in need or fail to meet others expectations, especially our own, we beat ourselves up for not trusting God. But, God offers us a different response. Rest, kindness, comfort. Instead of being harder on us Jesus whispers- Come to me, all those who are weary and heavy- laden and I will give you rest. Matt 11:28 (When You Need Rest and Space for You, by Bonnie Gray).

Your father made our yoke heavy. Now therefore lighten the hard service of your father and his heavy yoke on us, and we will serve you. And now, whereas my father laid on a heavy yoke, I will add to your yoke.” 2 Chronicles 10:4,11 ESV

Sometimes my weight is from pride and bitterness that I am holding onto. When it’s really in the giving away.  The pouring out of myself after I have let God pour in, that my load is lightened.

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13:34 ESV

Thank you Jesus that You know what I need every day. That you don’t come expecting things from me. Instead You want me to come to You for rest. Thank you for this gift that restores my soul.

Amy(amyctanner)

 

1 Comment

Filed under 2 Chronicles, 66 Books, John, New Testament, Old Testament

One response to “2 Chronicles 10-12; John 13:18-38

  1. I’ve been reading in John where Jesus said three times; “Peace be with you.” Rest, lighten the load, peace…I’m listening!

Leave a Reply

