Exodus 7-9; Psalm 105; Ephesians 1

God hates slavery whatever form it takes. When the people he called his own were bent and broken by their Egyptian masters, he heard their cries and altered the rules of nature to bring about their freedom. It wasn’t enough for the Israelites to cry out to God and beg him for freedom. When He delivered, they had to act quickly, pack their bags and head off for a new life and an unfamiliar destination.

In the western world, sometimes slave masters are less obvious. Maybe I am serving a certain standard of living, a perceived sense of control, the good opinion of others, a dysfunctional habit. Those masters are all rooted in sin and lead to death. When I serve any master but God, I turn from the one who loves me, sings over me, delights in me. Why, (smack palm to forehead) do I do that? But the good news is that God never turns away from me.

Once again, God altered the rules. He broke the power of sin and death through his beloved Son’s death on the cross and resurrection:

In his love he predestined us to be adopted as his sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will– to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves. In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins in accordance with the riches of God’s grace that he lavished on us with all wisdom and understanding.  Ephesians 1:5-8

Like the Israelites, I am called to fulfill my end of the deal by leaving my former masters. Freedom usually involves risk and new destinations (sometimes literal, sometimes metaphorical). I may stumble and fall when I leave what has held me captive; on occasion, I may even look back and foolishly long for the certainty that chains brought, but by God’s grace I continue to turn back to follow the one who promised me life abundant (John 10:10).

Lord Jesus, Thank you for freeing me from that which held me prisoner. Show me what it means to follow you today.

Klueh

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

