Daily Archives: March 18, 2024

Deuteronomy 6-9 & Luke 7

Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you rise. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.” (Deut 6:4-9 ESV)

We need to keep a kingdom focus or God-centered life. It is so important, and it is equally as distracting living in this world, that it needs to be on our minds at all times. Is the music we listen and the books we read and the discussions we have with our children keeping us focused on God? If not, time to make changes.

And Jesus went with them. When He was not far from the house, the centurion sent friends, saying to Him, ‘Lord, do not trouble yourself, for I am not worthy to have you come under my roof. Therefore I did not presume to come to you. But say the word, and let my servant be healed. For I too am a man set under authority, with soldiers under me; and I say to one ‘Go’ and he goes; and to another ‘come’ and he comes; and to my servant, ‘Do this’ and he does it.’ When Jesus heard these things, he marveled at him, and turning to the crowd that followed Him, said, ‘I tell you, not even in Israel have I found such faith.’ And when those who had been sent returned to the house, they found the servant well.” (Luke 7:6-10 ESV)

The Centurian knew who Jesus was. He humbled himself before Him, asking for a huge favor that he knew he didn’t deserve to receive. He had a kingdom focus.

Lord, make us all focused on You and doing Your will all day long. May we see and hear You in everything we do from our Bible readings, to our worship music, to our conversations with others. May we humbly remember that You are in it all and we just need to follow.

~Kellie

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized