Daily Archives: March 21, 2024

Deuteronomy 19-22, Psalms 6, Luke 10

God understands the human condition. He knows that sometimes things are done accidentally, and sometimes they are done on purpose. He knows some are treated differently, through no fault of their own. God knows that decisions should not be made in anger, but that you should wait until you have had time to process something before you act on it. God knows us, our flaws, and our goodness, because He created us.

Today we read about laws concerning various things that might arise. It seems to me that God looks out for those that no one else will, but on the other hand, if one is guilty His punishment is swift to drive out evil from His people.

God is good, and He wants to dwell among his people, but it must be a pure and good environment for Him to be able to abide there.

God instructs the people to build roads and refuge cities, so that any manslayer may flee there.

And this is the case of the manslayer who flees there, that he may live; Whoever kills his neighbor unintentionally not having hated him in the past—as when a man goes to the woods with his neighbor to cut timber and his hand swings a stroke with the ax to cut down the tree, and the head slips from the handle and strikes his neighbor so that he dies–he shall flee to one of these cities and live, lest the avenger of blood, while his anger is hot, pursue the manslayer and overtake him, because the way is long, and kill him, though he was not deserving of death, since he had not hated the victim in the past.  Therefore I command you, saying, ‘You shall separate three cities for yourself.’ (Deut. 19:4-7 NKJV)

But if anyone hates his neighbor, lies in wait for him, rises against him and strikes him mortally, so that he dies, and he flees to one of these cities, then the elders of his city shall send and bring him from there, and deliver him over to the hand of the avenger of blood, that he may die.  Your eye shall not pity him, but you shall put away the guilt of innocent blood from Israel, that it may go well with you. (Deut. 19:11-13 NKJV)

Your eye shall not pity; life shall be for life, eye for eye, tooth for tooth, hand for hand, foot for foot. (Deut. 19:21)

Other laws were:

You need more than one witness to an event, there must be two or three, just in case there is a false witness. If the false witness is found lying, what he wanted done to his brother, will be done to him.

Do not move the property boundaries.

Various laws on sexual sins. One sided and consensual.

Stone children who are stubborn and rebellious to their parents.

If you find something, return it to whomever it belongs.

If you see your brother struggling with a task, help him.

If a parent loves one child more than another, the inheritance still goes to the first born, even if it is not the loved child.

If you see a mother hen sitting in a bird’s nest, you may take the eggs but not the mother.

Various laws against mixing breeds, seeds, clothing.

Make tassels on the four corners of the clothing you cover yourself with.

God is always trying to keep things pure.

There were more than ten commandments. Some seemed unnecessary, but God knew the greediness of people. God thought of all circumstances to protect the innocent and to bring judgment on the guilty. He was not being harsh; He was just trying to protect people from evil. Most punishments involved death. If you did not want to die, you would think twice before you acted out, especially when you were angry and not thinking clearly.

God also had laws concerning war:

When you go out to battle against your enemies and see horses and chariots and people more numerous than you, do not be afraid of them; for the Lord your God is with you who brought you up from the land of Egypt. So it shall be, when you are the verge of battle, that the priest shall approach and speak to the people. And he shall say to them, ‘Hear O Israel; Today you are on the verge of battle with your enemies. Do not let your heart faint, do not be afraid, and do not tremble or be terrified because of them; for the Lord your God is He who goes with you to fight for you against your enemies to save you.”  (Deut. 20:1-4)

There were exceptions that allowed you not to go to battle: if you built a house and had not dedicated it, planted a vineyard and had not eaten of it, betrothed to a woman, and had not married her. These were major life events that the officers gave exception for. Also exempted was for the fearful and fainthearted, so that he does not spread his fears to those around him.

God had a land that he promised. In it lived enemies, maybe not enemies of Israel, but enemies of God. Those who worshipped other gods, did evil practices, and treated their neighbors with contempt. Their punishment was based on their lifestyle and how far they lived from God’s ways.

I might have a few demons of my own that I need to trust that God is going to help me to overthrow. Things like jealousy, covetousness, resentment, bitterness, anger, unforgiveness, or even hate. God says if I do not forgive, He cannot forgive me. It is only with God’s help and Him changing my heart towards my circumstances, that I can be victorious over what may be standing between me and my promised land. I live on the verge of battle every day, but I cannot be faint of heart. I must be strong and courageous, for my Lord and my God is with me wherever I go and will help me one battle at a time. When I rely on God and His promises, the evil one cannot stand against me.

Then the seventy returned with joy, saying, “Lord even the demons are subject to us in Your name.” And He said to them, “I saw Satan fall like lightning from heaven. Behold I give you the authority to trample on serpents and scorpions and over all the power of the enemy, and nothing shall by any means hurt you. Nevertheless do not rejoice in this, that the spirits are subject to you, but rather rejoice because your names are written in heaven.” (Luke 10:17-20 NKJV)

God gives me the power to trample on serpents and scorpions. But to do this confidently I must learn to hear from God and follow his direction. I need to be a Mary and not a Martha.

Now it happened as they went that He entered a certain village; and a certain woman named Martha welcomed Him into her house. And she had a sister called Mary, who also sat at Jesus’ feet and heard His word. But Martha was distracted with much serving, and she approached Him and said, “Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Therefore tell her to help me.” And Jesus answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things. But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken from her.” Luke 10:38-41 NKJV)

Unfortunately, I am more like Martha, scurrying about trying to make everything perfect. Consumed with my thoughts about what is next, and not sitting at Jesus’ feet listening to what He desires to teach me and share with me. And I hear Jesus saying “Carol, Carol.”

Father God, please do not be angry with me because I do not get it right most of the time. Have compassion for me, Lord, for I am weak. Heal me, Lord. Rescue me from myself with your unfailing love. I know you will answer my prayer, for this is your desire for me, to sit at your feet and listen, to be with You and You be with me. I am thankful that my name is written in heaven. I am thankful for You! In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen!

Carol (carolvorwe)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized