Gen. 17; Matt. 16; Neh. 6; Acts 16;

So once again the bible tells a story from centuries past which still reflects the true nature of man that still exists today.  That could be said for any of these chapters, but I was particularly amazed at Matthew 16.  It is almost laughable how quickly Peter swings from one end of the spectrum to the other.  Jesus praises him in one moment and in only a few versus later He is cursing him.

“Jesus replied, “Blessed are you, Simon son of Jonah, for this was not revealed to you by flesh and blood, but by my Father in heaven.  And I tell you that you are Peter and on this rock I will build my church, and the gates of Hades will not overcome it.  I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven;” Matthew 16:17-19a NIV

“Jesus turned and said to Peter, “Get behind me, Satan! You are a stumbling block to Me; you do not have in mind the concerns of God, but merely human concerns.” Matthew 16:23 NIV

Well of course I have never had such a quick change of heart.  That was laced with sarcasm by the way.  How many times have I praised God with song or prayer or deed in one moment and then literally minute’s later stumble and fall?  It might be something as simple as losing my temper over something like stubbing my toe or grumbling about the traffic.  The point is that contrary to so much of what society might preach, the heart of man is perverse and evil when left to itself.

Now lest we be discouraged and give up, remember that Peter went on to accomplish great things in the name of Jesus once he was inhabited by the Spirit.  That is the key I believe.  Through the Spirit of God working in us and through us, we can begin to see our hearts change and be more at peace.

Father, help us to keep our focus and daily draw closer to You.  May our hearts be filled with Your Spirit and our lips filled with Your words.

Allen (allen4myfamily)

2 Comments

Filed under 66 Books, Acts, Genesis, Matthew, Nehemiah, New Testament, Old Testament

2 responses to “Gen. 17; Matt. 16; Neh. 6; Acts 16;

  1. This story is a bit of a relief to me because I can be pure as can be one minute and then in the blink of an eye fall hard. The only one who seems surprised by my behavior is me! God understands my heart better than I and has made a way for us sinners.

  2. We hear Christ’s words to Peter, but how Peter must have felt is left to us to imagine. I have a great imagination. Humiliation, shame, confusion, even anger. Then again, maybe alarm that issues cries for mercy. This story makes me a little nervous…I want so much to be good ALL the time.

Leave a comment