Daily Archives: June 12, 2017

Deuteronomy 17; Psalm 104; Isaiah 44; Revelation 17

Deuteronomy 17

18 “Now it shall come about when he sits on the throne of his kingdom, he shall write for himself a copy of this law on a scroll [o]in the presence of the Levitical priests. 19 It shall be with him and he shall read it all the days of his life, that he may learn to fear the Lord his God, [p]by carefully observing all the words of this law and these statutes, 20 that his heart may not be lifted up above his [q]countrymen and that he may not turn aside from the commandment, to the right or the left, so that he and his sons may continue long in his kingdom in the midst of Israel. NASB

There is a practice floating around the blogosphere/Instagram called Scripture Journaling. It has intrigued and inspired me. Different writers generate and post monthly journaling plans with verses laid out for each day. Readers are encouraged and (hopefully) inspired to spend time each day writing the verses out by hand and receiving truth from the Lord through the process. This dovetails nicely with the new journaling Bibles that can be found … where a person can fill the margins of their beautiful Bible with artwork, illuminated lettering, notes, and highlighted verses (and more!) I think- also- the deliberate slowness… the slow-down of hand copying can still the mind and heart to hear from the Lord. Letter by letter; word by word; verse by verse- illuminated.

The physical process of writing has a direct connection to certain pathways in the brain. It is a process that is often replaced by the keyboard. Nonetheless, there is something special; something personal, individual, unique… even precious about an individual person’s own handwriting. In this, I think there is treasure- and I took note in Deuteronomy 17…where the king is commanded to “write for himself a copy of this law on a scroll…”  and… “he shall read it all the days of his life, that he may learn to fear the Lord his God…”

There is power in the careful copying of Scripture.

Isaiah 44

“Remember these things, O Jacob,
And Israel, for you are My servant;
I have formed you, you are My servant,
O Israel, you will not be forgotten by Me.
22 “I have wiped out your transgressions like a thick cloud
And your sins like a [r]heavy mist.
Return to Me, for I have redeemed you.”
23 Shout for joy, O heavens, for the Lord has done it!
Shout joyfully, you lower parts of the earth;
Break forth into a shout of joy, you mountains,
O forest, and every tree in it;
For the Lord has redeemed Jacob
And in Israel He shows forth His glory. (NASB)

Our whole hearts, our whole selves… the very earth itself -utterly abandoned in praise to God. The redemption of God is so glorious! And it is altogether wholly of God. It is His work and He has done it. Allowing the magnificence of His truth and great forgiveness to permeate heart and mind compels me toward praise and deep joy in Creation. And when I read these verses and others in this day’s assigned reading… I slow down my mind and heart- to realize how full and free my worship should be.

And….

Finally, beauty. Beauty.

Psalm 104

Bless the Lord, O my soul!
O Lord my God, You are very great;
You are clothed with splendor and majesty,
Covering Yourself with light as with a cloak,
Stretching out heaven like a tent curtain.
[a]He lays the beams of His upper chambers in the waters;
[b]He makes the clouds His chariot;
[c]He walks upon the wings of the wind;
[d]He makes [e]the winds His messengers,
[f]Flaming fire His ministers. (NASB)

-and-

Revelation 17

 And I heard a voice from heaven, like the sound of many waters and like the sound of loud thunder, and the voice which I heard was like the sound of harpists playing on their harps. And they *[a]sang a new song before the throne and before the four living creatures and the elders; (NASB)

There is poetry in the Word and the poetry is Him.

O Lord, You are covered with light as with a cloak.  You are very great.

Lord, help me create spaces to practice Scripture journaling and so receive the blessing of Your Word alive in my life. Let my Worship of You be full, abandoned, and free. Help my life and my words to reflect Your poetry and beauty. You are altogether lovely, holy, mighty, and worthy of praise. All the readings reveal Your glory. You are without blemish and sin. You rule over all creation. The mountains smoke at Your touch. Grant me a song, O Lord, to sing.

Psalm 104

Let the glory of the Lord endure forever;
Let the Lord be glad in His works;
32 [ae]He looks at the earth, and it trembles;
He touches the mountains, and they smoke.
33 [af]I will sing to the Lord [ag]as long as I live;
[ah]I will sing praise to my God [ai]while I have my being.
34 Let my meditation be pleasing to Him;
As for me, I shall be glad in the Lord. NASB

Rebecca (offeringsbecca)

2 Comments

Filed under 66 Books