Daily Archives: June 20, 2017

Deuteronomy 25; Psalms 116; Isaiah 52; Revelation 22

I love the Lord because he hears my voice and my prayer for mercy. Because he bends down to listen, I will pray as long as I have breath! Death wrapped its ropes around me; the terrors of the grave overtook me. I saw only trouble and sorrow. Then I called on the name of the Lord; “Please, Lord, save me!” How kind the Lord is! How good he is! So merciful, this God of ours! The Lord protects those of childlike faith; I was facing death, and he saved me. Let my soul be at rest again, for the Lord has been good to me. He has saved me from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling. And so I walk in the Lord’s presence as I live here on earth! I believed in you, so I said, “I am deeply troubled, Lord.” In my anxiety I cried out to you, “These people are all liars!” Psalms 116:1-11 NLT

Surfing through my news feed I came across a quote from Max Lucado that said, “Anxiety and Fear are cousins but not twins. Fear sees a threat. Anxiety imagines one.” Underneath he lists some practical steps for overcoming this. The first step is, Pray. If only that was my first instinct when fear or worry comes creeping into my mind. I am reminded in the Psalms that the Lord hears my voice. How comforting it is to know that He never tires of me coming to him. He doesn’t grow weary of my voice, like I sometimes do with my kids . But, more often than not, I don’t cry out to him enough.

Never forget what the Amalekites did to you as you came from Egypt. They attacked you when you were exhausted and weary, and they struck down those who were straggling behind. They had no fear of God. Therefore, when the Lord your God has given you rest from all your enemies in the land he is giving you as a special possession, you must destroy the Amakelites and erase their memory from under heaven. Never forget this!” Deuteronomy 25:17-19 NLT

“Don’t let your thoughts run away on you!” is number 6 on Max Lucado’s list. I know what it is like to let my thoughts spiral downward. I need to be on guard, because Satan knows my weakness. And if I am not on constant watch, I can quickly forget the Lord’s power.

But I will reveal my name to my people, and they will come to know its power. Then at last they will recognize that I am the one who speaks to them. Get out! Get out and leave your captivity, where everything you touch is unclean…You will not leave in a hurry, running for your lives. For the Lord will go ahead of you; yes, the God of Israel will protect you from behind” Isaiah 52:10&11NLT

Thank you Father for your faithfulness. That you go before me. And I can look back and remember all the times when I cried out to you and you answered. Help me to live from the victory that I already have in you. I praise you. Amen.

Look, I am coming soon! Blessed are those who obey the words of the prophecy written in this book.” Revelation 22:7 NLT

Amy(amyctanner)

Leave a comment

Filed under 66 Books, Deuteronomy, Isaiah, Psalms, Revelation