Joshua 5-8; Psalm 14; Luke 15

One of the things I like about celebrating the new year, is the moment I take into account where my life is with God and where would I like it to be going. It is a moment that is built on resolve, vision, calling and purpose. I read that here as the people of Israel were preparing for a new life in the promised land. I loved their resolve to be blessed and not cursed, to follow God and to receive life.

Joshua built an altar for the Lord, the God of Israel, on Mount Ebal, as Moses, the Lord’s servant, had commanded. Joshua built the altar as it was explained in the Book of the Teachings of Moses. It was made from uncut stones; no tool was ever used on them. On that altar the Israelites offered burnt offerings to the Lord and fellowship offerings. There Joshua wrote the teachings of Moses on stones for all the people of Israel to see. The elders, officers, judges, and all the Israelites were there; Israelites and non-Israelites were all standing around the Ark of the Agreement with the Lord in front of the priests, the Levites who had carried the Ark. Half of the people stood in front of Mount Ebal, and half stood in front of Mount Gerizim. This was the way the Lord’s servant Moses had earlier commanded the people to be blessed. – Joshua 8:30-33 NCV

They followed God’s instructions on what worship looked like and they dedicated themselves to God. I love how they knew that the way to prosper in everything they put their hands to is to take God along with them, and in all their ways to acknowledge Him by prayer, praise and dependence.

What a contrast to the fool of Psalm 14 (in heart, word, and deed). The foolish person has left the Law and the Lord.

What I love about God is that He can still take a fool, move in their heart and change them.

I will leave and return to my father and say to him, “Father, I have sinned against God and against you.  I am no longer worthy to be called your son, but let me be like one of your servants.”’ – Luke 15:18-19 NCV

I can see the resolve of the prodigal son so clearly:

(1) He resolved he would get up and go.

(2) He resolved he would go to his father.

(3) He resolved to speak to his father.

(4) He resolved to be obedient to his father.

These steps are all homeward steps.

Father, thank You for Your Holy Spirit who does not leave me with a fool’s heart but empowers me and creates a resolve in me to hear Your calling, get up, and follow You.

Erwin (evanlaar1922)

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 day reading plan, 66 Books, Bible in a year reading plan, Cover to cover, Joshua, Luke, New Testament, Old Testament, Psalms, reading plan, Uncategorized

Leave a comment